When should you get your child a mobile phone?

So when is the right time to get your child a mobile phone?

Riley has just turned 7 and seems to think he is now old enough for a mobile phone! I don’t think so little man.

As a business women where I earn a living from selling mobile contracts with the major networks to those that have their own business or are self employed I’m surrounded by mobiles on daily basis (www.rightplancomms.co.uk). 

I have my own mobile phone. So am I being hypercritical for denying my son a mobile phone?

Hear me out. Firstly he’s 7! Am I wrong for wanting to protect him for as long as possible from the world of social media and maybe online bullying? 

You hear over and over again on documentaries and the news of children being bullied online so they have no escape.  Online bullying that can cause so many issues for a child mentally where a percentage of children take their own life!! They can’t even be at home to get away from the bullying which should feel the safest place in the world for any child. So am I not doing a good thing keeping our home this safe place for him for as long as possible by blocking his online access?

Don’t get me wrong Riley has a PS4 that he can play games etc on but we have not signed him up with a online profile so he cannot play games and talk to people around the world. I’m absolutely terrified of all this online grooming that goes on. 

He also has a IPad that he has family members numbers on so he can use FaceTime, children’s YouTube so I can keep an eye and allow what he watches and again he has games on here. He knows the rules when it comes to the Ipad. If he plays a game where other people can interact with him (roblox) he is only allowed to play these in the presence of an adult. If he breaks this rule he losses his iPad for a week and that game gets removed!

I personally don’t think a child needs a mobile until they start secondary school (around 12/13 years old). Even then though I will still try to protect both my children for as long as possible. I feel in today’s era our children are growing up well before needed. Keep them as children for as long as possible I say. 

So unfortunately Riley you have a while yet before mummy and daddy get you a mobile phone. Much to his disappointment. He will just have to make do with what he’s got! 

Am I being to strict? Am I not being strict enough? What’s your views and tips about this topic I would love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

