Primary School Homework

My blog yesterday Should parents be allowed to take children out of school for holidays, talked about how I felt about being allowed to take my children out of school in the UK to go abroad on a family holiday.

Today I want to talk about the amount of homework primary school children get (ages 4-7).

Yesterday Riley came home from school (last day for the 2 week Easter break) with 5 pieces of homework, plus spellings and a reading diary to do. To be honest this seems to be the usual weekly amount at the moment. Is it just me or do you feel that is to much for a 7 year old? 

Homework in primary schools is not compulsory but it is officially encouraged. Seriously though does it have to be that much?

It’s been in the news lately about not being able to take children out of school during term time without facing a £60 fine per child, per parent so doesn’t that make school holidays even more important to have quality family time?

Not only that but what about parents who have more than one child at school or a baby (like myself) or even work full time for that matter! I don’t want to be spending what little quality time I have after school and during the school breaks doing homework!! 

I mean they are children, I personally think school holidays is for them to relax and unwind from all the hard work they have been doing and do what all kids want to do. Have fun and make memories. Memories are important and I be damned if my kids grow up and all they ever remember is going to school and do homework.

The only homework I will be doing with Riley this half term is his reading! If he wants to do his other homework that’s fine but it is his choice! 

I plan to have a fun half term making memories that both I and Riley can cherish in the future. That’s what having a family is all about after all!

Let me know what your views are on primary school children getting so much homework!

Leave a Reply

