Should parents be allowed to take children on holiday during term time?

So today the news has been all about the topic “should parents be allowed to take children on holiday during term time?”. After a father lost his Supreme Court battle. Click here to read the full story.

So I ask all you mummies, daddies and lovely people what’s your view, Should you be allowed to take your children on holiday during term time?

I personally think parents should be allowed to take their own children on holiday whenever they can afford. I will continue to take my children on holiday whenever I can afford regardless if it is in term time or not! I’d rather pay the fine then pay double to go away. 

I took my son Riley (6 at the time) on holiday last year to Turkey. During our trip he learnt about Turkish culture and traditions, saw real life sea turtles and walked along the sea turtles own protected beach. He also learnt about Turkish currency and swam in the sea from the boat we was on all the way to the beach to pick up a sea shell, I was so proud of his little achievement and everything he learned. He couldn’t of learned any of that sat in a classroom.

I do not deny children’s education is extremely important. I just think parents once a year or even every other year have the right to take their children on holiday. Family time and being able to create memories is just as important, but that’s just me.

I would love to hear your views.

Leave a Reply

