Living with PCOS

So your first question is what is PCOS? Well it’s called Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. PCOS is a genetic, hormonal, metabolic and reproductive disorder that affects woman and is the leading cause of female infertility.

It may sound scary but it is actually a really common condition that affects how a woman’s ovaries work. It is estimated on the NHS website that around 1 in 5 women suffer from this condition in the U.K (that’s a lot of women) & more than half of these women don’t even have any symptoms and go undiagnosed!!

There are three main features of PCOS which are:

  • Irregular periods
  • Excess androgen (male hormones which cause physical signs such as excess facial or body hair)
  • Polycystic Ovaries (ovaries become enlarged and contained fluid filled sacs (follicles) which surround the eggs. These are not cysts though like the name suggests. 

There is no cure for PCOS, but the symptoms can be treated. If you think you have this condition I would highly recommend speaking to your doctor. PCOS tends to run in families. (I can vouch for that as both my mum and auntie and me have this condition)

Anxiety and depression are closely linked to PCOS due to the hormone imbalance. 

PCOS is NOT something to be ashamed of.

Can I just say that I personally feel that with PCOS it doesn’t mean you will never have a baby. It just means it may be harder to conceive or you may need medical help to conceive. You just need to remain positive and speak to professionals. Many people (like me) with the condition go on to have healthy beautiful babies.

I’ve been extremely lucky that even though I have PCOS I’ve had 3 natural pregnancies (didn’t need any medical help to conceive) but sadly miscarried one baby (you have a higher chance of miscarriage or premature birth with PCOS) but I did go on to have two healthy babies.

Another story is my auntie who also has PCOS tried for many years to have a baby both naturally and with help medically with no luck and 3 failed pregnancies. She was so upset and gave up all hope of becoming a mummy and then after finally accepting she wasn’t going to have children she found out she was 30 weeks pregnant and had a healthy beautiful little girl.

I really believe if it’s meant to be it will happen. Just always stay positive!

I have 2 of the main features of PCOS. The irregular periods & the excess facial hair. I haven’t actually had any scans to see if I have follicles on my ovaries so who knows if I have the third.

The irregular periods never bothered me much some months I wouldn’t even have a period at all, doesn’t mean I didn’t have the mood swings or cramps that you usually get with periods though. 

The excess hair annoys the shit out of me though!!! I have side burns that go past my ears and get facial hair around my chin (mainly on the left side) and my neck!! The hair does get me down sometimes but there is nothing I can do so a woman’s got to do what a woman’s got to do. If you suffer from excess facial hair DO NOT shave it. It grows back thicker and blacker and it looks horrible and it’s so annoying to have to shave it every few days. Bleaching, Waxing or Plucking is the best way to deal with it and that way you don’t have to do it so often. 

I’ve accepted my condition and the complications this condition can cause in later life but I DO NOT let this condition rule my life. Even when I struggled to fall pregnant (took nearly 2 years at one time) I never let the condition get the better of me. Don’t let it rule your life is my biggest bit of advice I can give.

If anyone wants to discuss PCOS please feel free to write a comment or send a message via the contact me page.

4 thoughts on “Living with PCOS

  1. “I have 2 of the main features of PCOS. The irregular periods & the excess facial hair. I haven’t actually had any scans to see if I have follicles on my ovaries so who knows if I have the third.” – Same here! And I’ve miscarried twice. I am under the label “suspected PCOS.” :/

    Like

    • The excess facial hair is so annoying right? I haven’t had a scan but my doctors done a blood test for my hormone levels back when I was a teenager they felt this test was enough and the fact I have family history of the condition on both sides of my family to diagnose PCOS. I had a miscarriage to 😦 I suppose all doctors are different. X

      Like

Leave a Reply

